Japanese car auctions guide
Japanese Car Auctions: Who Can Join, and What Foreign-Owned Dealers Need to Know
The major used car auction groups in Japan, their venues, and the membership rules that matter if your company’s representative is not a Japanese national. Every fact is taken from each auction’s official website.
Checked on 5 October 2026.
Major auctions and their membership rules
| Auction | Venues | Kobutsu license | Foreign representative | English site |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| USS | 19 venues, Hokkaido to Kyushu (incl. USS Tokyo in Noda, Chiba; HAA Kobe and JAA are now USS venues) | 1 year+ | Corporations: yes. Sole proprietors with a foreign representative: no | Yes |
| TAA (Toyota Auto Auction) | 11 venues: Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Yokohama, Chubu, Kinki, Hyogo, Hiroshima, Shikoku, Kyushu, Minami-Kyushu | Required | Not stated | Not stated |
| CAA | 4 venues: Toyota (Aichi), Kashiwa (Chiba), Hashima (Gifu), Shiwa (Iwate) | 1 year+ (in principle) | Yes | Not stated |
| Honda Auto Auction | 6 venues: Tachikawa (Tokyo), Tokai (Aichi), Kobe, Chikugo (Fukuoka), Chitose, Iwanuma | 1 year+ in business | Guarantors must be Japanese nationals | Not stated |
| Arai Auction | 7 venues: Sendai, Oyama (Tochigi, cars and machinery), Bayside (Kanagawa), Nagoya, Kansai (Osaka), Fukuoka | 2 years | Guarantors must be Japanese nationals or permanent residents | Yes |
| Aucnet / i-AUC (online) | Online only. Connected to 112 venues (as of September 2026, per Aucnet) | Required | Yes, after screening | Not stated |
| JU auctions | Venues across Japan, one or more per region (e.g. JU Tokyo in Koshigaya, Saitama) | 1 year+ (JU Tokyo) | JU Tokyo requires fluent Japanese | Not stated |
| NAA (Nissan Auto Auction) | 4 venues: Tokyo (Yokohama), Nagoya (Komaki), Osaka (Settsu), Fukuoka (Hisayama), plus satellites | Required (with peddling permit) | Not stated | Not stated |
| MIRIVE | Venues in Saitama, Osaka and Aichi | 1 year+ trading | Yes (residence card required) | Not stated |
| IAA Osaka | 1 venue: Izumiotsu, Osaka | 1 year+ | Not stated | Not stated |
| BayAuc | 1 venue: Suminoe, Osaka | Not stated | Not stated | Yes |
| LAA | Shikokuchuo (Ehime) and Okayama, plus satellites in Kobe-Nishi, Yonago and Takamatsu | Required | Not stated | Not stated |
| KCAA | Ebino (Miyazaki), Koga (Fukuoka), Yamaguchi, Kyoto | Required | Not stated | Not stated |
“Not stated” means the rule is not published on the auction’s official website. It does not mean the answer is no. Rules change, so confirm with the auction before you apply.
Four things to check before you apply
1. Corporation or sole proprietor
USS accepts corporations with a foreign representative, but not sole proprietors whose representative is a foreign national. If you trade as a sole proprietor, check this first.
2. Who can be your guarantor
Several auctions require guarantors with Japanese nationality: USS (foreign nationals cannot be guarantors), Honda Auto Auction (Japanese nationality) and Arai (Japanese nationals or permanent residents). Arai also offers a deposit membership without a guarantor for companies already in another auction.
3. How long you have held your Kobutsu license
Most auctions ask for 1 year or more. Arai asks for 2 years. A new company usually starts with an online service or an auction with shorter requirements.
4. Japanese language
JU Tokyo requires fluent Japanese reading, writing and conversation. Online services such as Aucnet state that many foreign nationals use them.
Auction by auction
USS
USS Co., Ltd. · 19 venues, Hokkaido to Kyushu (incl. USS Tokyo in Noda, Chiba; HAA Kobe and JAA are now USS venues)
- Kobutsu license covering cars, held for at least 1 year in the company’s own name, and a permanent business site that is actually trading.
- Deposit of ¥100,000 and at least 2 guarantors. Foreign nationals cannot be guarantors.
- Sole proprietors whose representative is a foreign national are not accepted. Corporations with a foreign representative may apply with a residence card.
- Fiscal year ended March 2026: 3,504,437 vehicles consigned and 2,347,566 sold (67.0%). On-site members: 49,176 companies.
Source: Membership conditions / Venues / Data Book 2026
TAA (Toyota Auto Auction)
Accessed through the TC-webΣ portal (Sigma Networks) · 11 venues: Hokkaido, Tohoku, Kanto, Yokohama, Chubu, Kinki, Hyogo, Hiroshima, Shikoku, Kyushu, Minami-Kyushu
- For used car dealers holding a Kobutsu license (FAQ). The full member rules are published as image files and were not checked here.
CAA
CAA Co., Ltd. · 4 venues: Toyota (Aichi), Kashiwa (Chiba), Hashima (Gifu), Shiwa (Iwate)
- Kobutsu license held for at least 1 year in principle. Joining fee ¥30,000 + tax, deposit ¥50,000.
- The official FAQ answers “yes” to whether a company with a foreign-national representative can join.
Source: Enrollment / Venues
Honda Auto Auction
Honda U-TEC Co., Ltd. · 6 venues: Tachikawa (Tokyo), Tokai (Aichi), Kobe, Chikugo (Fukuoka), Chitose, Iwanuma
- For corporate dealers with a Kobutsu license covering used cars, at least 1 year in business and a permanent business site.
- Guarantors are the representative plus one third party, and both must hold Japanese nationality.
- Joining fee ¥38,500, monthly fee ¥13,200.
Source: Membership rules / Venues
Arai Auction
Arai Shoji Co., Ltd. · 7 venues: Sendai, Oyama (Tochigi, cars and machinery), Bayside (Kanagawa), Nagoya, Kansai (Osaka), Fukuoka
- Full member: Kobutsu license held for 2 years, joining fee ¥50,000, deposit ¥50,000 and guarantors.
- Guarantors must be Japanese nationals or permanent residents, under 65, with income and property of at least ¥3 million each.
- Deposit members (no guarantor) must already belong to another Japanese auction.
Source: Enrollment FAQ
Aucnet / i-AUC (online)
Aucnet Inc. / i-AUC Inc. · Online only. Connected to 112 venues (as of September 2026, per Aucnet)
- Kobutsu license, a Japanese bank account and qualified invoice (インボイス) registration.
- The official page says many foreign nationals use the service, and that foreign nationals can join if they meet the conditions and pass screening.
Source: Service page
JU auctions
Run by each prefecture’s JU association · Venues across Japan, one or more per region (e.g. JU Tokyo in Koshigaya, Saitama)
- Rules differ by prefecture. JU Tokyo asks for a Kobutsu license held 1 year or more in the company’s name, invoice registration, a guarantor other than the representative and a permanent business site.
- JU Tokyo also requires fluent reading, writing and conversation in Japanese.
Source: JU Tokyo joining / JU federation
NAA (Nissan Auto Auction)
Nissan Used Car Center Co., Ltd. · 4 venues: Tokyo (Yokohama), Nagoya (Komaki), Osaka (Settsu), Fukuoka (Hisayama), plus satellites
- Company founded 1 year or more ago with a permanent site.
- Requires a referral from a Nissan dealer manager or from someone who has been an NAA member for 1 year or more.
- The Yokohama venue has a prayer room and a halal menu.
MIRIVE
MIRIVE Co., Ltd. · Venues in Saitama, Osaka and Aichi
- Kobutsu license and 1 year of trading. Joining fee ¥50,000 + tax. A residence card is required when the representative is a foreign national.
Source: Admission
IAA Osaka
International Auto Auction Co., Ltd. · 1 venue: Izumiotsu, Osaka
- Kobutsu license held 1 year or more, and 1 year or more of trading.
- Located next to the Sakai-Senboku export port, surrounded by exporters’ yards, and describes itself as strong for export-bound vehicles.
Source: Conditions / About
BayAuc
BayAuc Co., Ltd. · 1 venue: Suminoe, Osaka
- Its English page says its auctions are attended by many overseas buyers. Membership requirements are not published on its site.
Source: English auction page / Company
LAA
City Light Co., Ltd. · Shikokuchuo (Ehime) and Okayama, plus satellites in Kobe-Nishi, Yonago and Takamatsu
- Copy of Kobutsu license. Joining fee ¥50,000 + tax, deposit ¥50,000.
KCAA
Kyushu Chuo Auto Auction Co., Ltd. · Ebino (Miyazaki), Koga (Fukuoka), Yamaguchi, Kyoto
- Copy of Kobutsu license. Kyoto venue joining fee ¥50,000 + tax.
Source: Admission
Exporting a car bought at auction
Export deregistration certificate
Before exporting a registered car, the owner applies at the transport bureau for temporary export deregistration (輸出抹消仮登録) and receives the certificate (輸出抹消仮登録証明書). It is presented to customs with the export declaration and can be issued from 6 months before the export date. A car already under temporary deregistration needs an export notice certificate (輸出予定届出証明書) instead. Source: Japan Customs 5502
Destination rules
Some destinations add their own checks. For example, cars bought at auction for Mauritius must be certified by JUMVEA for auction grade and specifications. Source: JUMVEA
Bought at auction? Sell it to buyers in 100+ countries.
UCARWORLD is a B2B marketplace where dealers and exporters in Japan list their stock for overseas buyers. Support in English. Trial listing is free.